

PhD Council Annual General Meeting

29 November 2022, Domus Juridica, Møterom 8113 and on Zoom

Present:

- PhD council members: Trygve Losnedahl, Laura Letourneau-Tremblay, Dinie Arief, Elsabé Boshoff, Rose Boyle & Annichen Sæteren.
- PhD students of the Faculty of Law

Agenda

- 1. Annual Report 2022 & Budget update
 - Trygve opened the General Meeting, by noting that it is a statutory meeting, regulated under the statutes of the PhD Council. The agenda and the Annual Report of the PhD Council had been sent out in advance of the meeting. The opportunity was given for adding further items to the agenda.
 - Trygve introduced the PhD Council to those who do not know who they are, and gave an overview of the activities of the PhD Council in the course of the year, including key take aways from the on-boarding survey of new PhDs, social events, covid/post-covid issues, and participation of the PhD Council in boards and committees. The representatives of the PhD Council on the various statutory committees of the Faculty also provided an overview of their work this year.
 - Elsabe presented an update of the budget, both the sources of funding and the way in which it was spent.
 - Some ideas for the work of the newly elected PhD Council were discussed, including issues of remuneration, teaching obligations, follow-up on the on-boarding survey, and improving Friday lunches and 'lønningspils'.
 - The floor was opened for comments and discussion of various points.
 - The Annual Report with its annexes are available on the website of the PhD Council.
- 2. Election of the new PhD Council 2022/2023
 - Having received nominations both in the run-up to the meeting as well as in the meeting, the following people were elected to the PhD Council for 2022/2023:
 - o Daksha Sriragulan
 - Sandra Petersen
 - Naureen Rahim
 - o Pernille Sandberg Drtina
 - o Maja Vestad
 - Tomas Midttun Tobiassen
 - Trygve Losnedahl
 - Because of several absentees, the meeting did not decide on positions, which will be allocated within the new council in their first meeting.

E-mail: stip-rad@jus.uio.no

Webaddr: www.jus.uio.no

3. Election of Representative to the Faculty Board





• The following people were elected to serve as representatives of PhDs and Post-docs on the Faculty board:

o Representative: Tomas Midttun Tobiassen

Deputy: Sandra PetersenDeputy: Maja Vestad

4. The formal meeting was followed by a social event.

Minutes submitted by: Dinie Arief and Elsabé Boshoff